Using Guitar Pedals for Synth Sounds

Posted: June 13, 2012 in Misc.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This is a very interesting idea I have never even thought about! As we all know, every piece of hardware and software sounds different, this would be a brilliant way to get some really original synth sounds, live and in the studio.

Glitzerstrahl

Here’s something that came as a big revelation to me when I first saw it. Guitar effect pedals are an awesome addition to your synth setup!

( Keep in mind that I’m still a beginner in this field ;-), I’m easily impressed. )

I already had a distortion / fuzz pedal (Plimsoul) for my strat that I really, really like the sound of, and putting it in front of for example the Animoog running on the iPad, or the Meeblip gives a whole new range of possible sounds. I especially like how it gives you a truly tactile and immediate way of manipulating effects while playing live. Also, since it’s actual hardware sitting in the signal path before your instrument reaches the interface, it puts 0 load on the CPU of the host computer.

The obvious downside of course is that you cannot go back and manipulate parameters or dry/wet mix…

View original post 247 more words

Leave a Reply

